Mr. and Ms. Basketball Finalists Named


Hermitage, Tennessee, February 12, 2016 – The awards will be presented to the top girls and boys in five classifications of the Tennessee Secondary School Athletic Association on the floor of Murphy Center on the campus of MTSU on Tuesday, March 8 at 7:00 p.m.

A statewide committee of sportswriters selected winners based on performance during the 2015-2016 regular season. Academics and character were also taken into consideration.

High school head basketball coaches and members of the media nominated the finalists.

This is the 32nd year that the Mr. and Miss Basketball Awards have been presented to Tennessee’s best high school basketball players. American General was the sponsor of the event since the inception of the awards in 1985 until 2001. The Memphis Grizzlies were sponsors of the awards from 2002-2004. From 2005-2015 the Mr. and Miss Basketball Awards were presented at the conclusion of each respective championship game as part of the post-game trophy ceremony.

The draw for the Division I boys’ state basketball tournament will be held prior to the Mr. and Miss Basketball Awards on the floor of Murphy Center at 5:00 p.m. Previously, the boys’ draw was held on the Saturday morning of the Division I girls’ championship games. The draw for the Division I girls’ state tournament brackets will be scheduled for 2:00 p.m. on Sunday, March 6 at the DoubleTree Hotel in Murfreesboro.

Division II-A Miss Basketball Finalists

Ashtyn Baker, Northpoint Christian

Anna Jones, USJ

Micah Scheetz, Webb School of Knoxville

Division II-AA Miss Basketball Finalists

Taylor Barnes, St. Benedict at Auburndale

Kaleigh Clemons, Baylor

Sydni Harvey, Brentwood Academy

Class A Miss Basketball Finalists

Lakelyn Bouldin, Van Buren County

Taylor Lamb, South Greene

Ashlynd Wilkerson, MTCS

Class AA Miss Basketball Finalists

Akira Levy, Upperman

Jacobi Lynn, McMinn Central

Kayla Marosites, Elizabethton

Class AAA Miss Basketball Finalists

Crystal Dangerfield, Blackman

Anastasia Hayes, Riverdale

Kendall Spray, Wilson Central

Division II-A Mr. Basketball Finalists

Kenny Cooper, FRA

Chase Hayden, St. George’s

Clayton Hughes, USJ

Division II-AA Mr. Basketball Finalists

Jordan Bone, Ensworth

William Douglas, Christian Brothers

Darius Garland, Brentwood Academy

Class A Mr. Basketball Finalists

Kobe Foster, Huntland

Tyreke Key, Clay County

Nicholas Hopkins, Fayetteville

Class AA Mr. Basketball Finalists

Austin Douglas, Cheatham County

Bo Hodges, Maplewood

Garrett Sams, Westview

Class AAA Mr. Basketball Finalists

Tee Higgins, Oak Ridge

Nathan Hoover, Arlington

Alex Lomax, Memphis East