A diverse cast of Middle Tennessee State University students, faculty, staff and alumni reaffirmed the university’s values for a new academic year in the latest video expression of a cherished Blue Raider tradition.

The True Blue Pledge is recited each fall at MTSU’s annual University Convocation ceremony during which university President Sidney A. McPhee, top executives and faculty formally welcome new students to campus and explain MTSU rituals and traditions.

The pledge, which begins with the simple phrase “I am True Blue,” underscores MTSU’s core values of honesty and integrity; respect for diversity; engagement in the community; and committing to reason, not violence.

“‘I am True Blue’ is much more than a mere slogan. It is an affirmation that you are part of a community that shares certain values and works together to further the progress and success of a great university,” said McPhee, who enlisted a task force several years ago to develop the university’s foundational values and ultimately the pledge that captures the spirit of those values.

Here is the latest video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Kp-4JtacRbA

The True Blue Pledge reads:

“I am True Blue.

“As a member of this diverse community, I am a valuable contributor to its progress and success. I am engaged in the life of this community. I am a recipient and a giver.

“I am a listener and a speaker. I am honest in word and deed. I am committed to reason, not violence. I am a learner now and forever.

“I am a BLUE RAIDER. True Blue!”

Those appearing in the video, in order of appearance, include:

Courtney Brandon — 2018-19 Student Government Association president

Victoria Leuang — MTSU senior, Media and Entertainment

Peyton Tracy — Student trustee

Nick McDevitt — Head men’s basketball coach

Tommy Wilmore — Student ambassador

Mary Esther Reed — Town of Smyrna mayor/MTSU alumna

Pippa Holloway — Faculty Senate president

Darrell Freeman Jr. — Baseball

Kobe Herman — SGA senator, College of Business/Student Voice contributing writer

Abbigail Tracy-Thomson — SGA senator, College of Basic and Applied Sciences/Campus Nonviolence Committee

Ayana Ife — MTSU alumna/Project Runway Season 16 runner-up

Zoey Mahlon — Campus School student

Yvana McDonald — Student ambassador

Tom Moonen — Men’s tennis

Vonnie Covington — Volleyball

Mark Byrnes — University provost

For more information about MTSU’s True Blue initiative, visit http://www.mtsu.edu/trueblue/index.php.