Middle Tennessee sophomore quarterback Brent Stockstill is one of 30 quarterbacks nationally who has been named to the 2016 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award Watch List released Thursday. Earlier this year he was named to the Maxwell Award watchlist.

Stockstill joins Southern Miss’ Nick Mullens as the only C-USA representatives on the preseason list, and the freshman All-American is also just one of five sophomores to make the list.

The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award is presented annually to the nation’s best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. This year’s list was selected based on player performance during the previous year and expectations heading into the 2016 college football season.

Stockstill was named Freshman All-American by Athlon Sports in 2015, when he also earned C-USA Freshman of the Year honors. In just one season, the southpaw became Middle Tennessee’s all-time leader in 300-yard passing games with eight and he already ranks ninth on the all-time passing list with 4,046 yards. Stockstill also ranks tied for eighth in touchdown passes with 30.

Stockstill started all 13 games as a redshirt freshman. He finished the year having completed 327-of-490 passes for 4,005 yards and 30 touchdowns. He fell just 53 yards shy of breaking Jameis Winston’s NCAA freshman passing record (4,057). Stockstill’s 327 completions set a new NCAA freshman completions record, and he was one of 12 players nationally to throw for more than 4,000 yards.

Stockstill finished season ranked among the Top 15 nationally in five categories: completions per game (6th), passing yards (12th), passing touchdowns (12th), completion percentage (14th) and total offense (15th). The prolific passer set single-season Blue Raider records for completions, attempts, passing yards, passing touchdowns and 300-yard passing games.

The Davey O’Brien Award honors candidates who exemplify Davey O’Brien’s enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics. The award is overseen by the Davey O’Brien Foundation, which is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas.

Read More

Improve Your Heart Health with All-Natural Soltea Daily Supplement – Click Now to Save 25% Off Your First Order
All-Natural Heart Health Supplement – Save 25% Now
Coding for kids! Introducing programming games for the next generation. Get your kids coding today.
Start with a free trial.
Grow Credit
Grow Credit is a free Mastercard you can use to pay your subscriptions while you build credit.
Start building your credit today!
The easiest way to compare and save on home and auto insurance. Match coverage, compare rates and save.
Find hundreds in savings now!
Lower your bills and stay on top of your financial life with Truebil, the app that helps you save every day.
Take control & start saving money!
Acorns helps you grow your money. Take control with all-in-one investment, retirement, checking and more.
Get a $5 bonus when you sign up.
Overcome your credit card debt with Tally. Consolidate and save money while you pay it down.
Get started with Tally today.
Know your spending habits, anticipate overdrafts, and get up to $250. Only takes 2 minutes. No credit check.
Get your finances on track.