MTSU Stock Horse Team Earns Division II National Championship


Nine riders have helped the MTSU stock horse team earn a Division II national championship for the second time since 2016.

The Blue Raider team, which is coached by Andrea Rego, earned the title earlier in April at the American Stock Horse Association Collegiate and National Show held in Sweetwater, Texas.

Students and their horses competed in cow horse, pleasure, reining and trail events, Rego said. (In cow horse, the rider’s horse is tasked to work a live cow, performing specific maneuvers that include circling the cow, turning it in a specific manner and performing a reining pattern — requiring skill, coordination and timing — as the rider guides the horse through a precise pattern of circles, spins and stops.)

Division II schools including MTSU show in two divisions: Limited Non-Pro and Novice and are typically smaller teams, Rego said. MTSU finished ahead of Reserve Champion Clarendon College and third-place Missouri State.

Individual national show results leading to the team title included:

• Jenna Seal, a senior from Meridian, Mississippi, was the Limited Non-Pro Champion riding Catsafire.

• Patricia Wingate, a junior from Hazelpark, Michigan, placed third overall in Limited Non-Pro, riding Izzie Tronado.

• Hunter Huddleston, a freshman from Franklin, Tennessee, was Youth Champion, riding My Favorite Remedy.

• Taylor Meek, a freshman from Murfreesboro, Tennessee, was Youth Reserve Champion, riding Dunnits Smokin.

• Kylie Small, a senior from Dallas, Georgia, was Novice Reserve Champion, riding BC Pennys from Tari.

• Mary Catherine Wade, a junior from Germantown, Tennessee, was fourth overall in Novice, riding Hay Now Sunshine.

• Caroline Blackstone, a junior from Douglasville, Georgia, was sixth overall in Novice, riding Shakers Cowgal.

• Jennifer Dowd, a senior from Unionville, Tennessee, was eighth overall in Novice, riding LC Jack Handcock 101.

Division I schools show in three divisions: Non-Pro, Limited Non-Pro and Novice and are typically comprised of larger competing schools, Rego said. Three Texas schools — champion North Central Texas College, Reserve Champion Texas Tech and third-place Texas A&M — comprised the top spots in Division I.

To learn more about the horse science program at the MTSU Horse Science Center on West Thompson Lane, call 615-898-2832 or visit online.

Horse science is part of the School of Agriculture, one of 11 departments in the College of Basic and Applied Sciences.

Please Join Our FREE Newsletter!