mr-fb-logo-titans-noyearThe Tennessee Titans Mr. Football Awards will be presented to the top 16 backs and linemen in eight classifications of the Tennessee Secondary School Athletic Association on Monday, November 28, 2016, at Nissan Stadium in Nashville. For the 15th consecutive year, the top kicker in the state will be recognized with a Mr. Football Award, regardless of classification.

Four semifinalists are announced in this release for each category and each classification. There are six classifications in Division I and two in Division II. With “Back of the Year” and “Lineman of the Year” for each classification, as well as the “Kicker of the Year” award, that makes for a total of 17 award categories. Two finalists for each category will be announced by Mike Keith on the Titans website at on Tuesday, November 15 at 11:00 a.m. CST / 12:00 p.m. EST. The two finalists for each award will be the ones invited to attend the awards luncheon at Nissan Stadium, where the winner of each award will be announced.

A committee of statewide sports writers selected winners based on performance in the 2016 regular season. Academics and character were also taken into consideration. High school head coaches and members of the media nominated the finalists. “We are very excited and appreciative about being involved with the Tennessee Titans for the 10th consecutive year,” stated Bernard Childress, Executive Director of the TSSAA. “They have helped make the recognition of these 68 student-athletes, their families, and schools possible.

The sponsorship of the Tennessee Titans Mr. Football Awards and numerous contributions to high schools across the state since the team moved to Tennessee have meant a great deal to the member schools of the TSSAA.” This is the 32nd year that the Mr. Football Awards have been presented to Tennessee’s best high school football players. A Mr. Football trophy will be presented to the winners of each category. A Mr. Football plaque will be presented to the runner-up in each category. The other semi-finalists will each receive a certificate. More than 400 people, including the 34 finalists, their families, coaches, school administrators and members of the media from all parts of the state, are expected to attend the 2016 luncheon. Mike Keith, play-by-play voice of the Tennessee Titans, will emcee the awards presentation.

A live videostream of the awards will be provided at

2016 Tennessee Titans Mr. Football Semifinalists

CLASS 1A LINEMAN Mitchell Butner, South Pittsburg Brant Lawless, Nashville Christian Spencer Norrod, Monterey Josh Silvey, Greenback

CLASS 2A LINEMAN Alex Kirkendoll, Marion County Hunter McClain, Marion County Donald Staats, Watertown Slayton Wild, Forrest

CLASS 3A LINEMAN Hunter Davenport, Sequatchie County Jacob Phillips, East Nashville Jacob Rimmer, Milan Jack Warwick, Alcoa

CLASS 4A LINEMAN Letrall Bumphus, Hardin County Cade Mays, Knoxville Catholic Cain McWilliams, Marshall County Rutger Reitmaier, Lipscomb

CLASS 5A LINEMAN Maleik Gray, LaVergne Trevis Hopper, Memphis Central Eli Katina, Centennial Mike Rhoades, Campbell County

CLASS 6A LINEMAN T.D. Blackmon, Maryville D.J. Delfendahl, Mt. Juliet Aubrey Miller, Whitehaven Max Wray, Franklin

DII-A LINEMAN Morgan Ernst, Webb School of Knoxville Will Lawrence, Harding Academy Cole Lusby, The King’s Academy Trey Smith, USJ

DII-AA LINEMAN Tanner Antonutti, Ensworth Griffin Hawkins, Briarcrest Giovanni Hightower-Reviere, McCallie Dorian Hopkins, MUS CLASS

1A BACK Preston Rice, Wayne County Kayne Roberts, Greenback Dresser Winn, Dresden D.J. Taylor, Huntland

CLASS 2A BACK Darius Harper, Austin-East Caleb Johnson, MAHS Seth Price, Watertown Cordarrian Richardson, Trezevant

CLASS 3A BACK Terrell Carter, Stratford Hunter Davenport, Sequatchie County Tykee Kellogg, Alcoa Cole Smith, CAK

CLASS 4A BACK Antwuan Branch, Kenwood Chase Kuerschen, Knoxville Catholic Amari Rodgers, Knoxville Catholic Timothy Taylor, Memphis East C

LASS 5A BACK Caden Harbin, Knoxville Halls Tee Higgins, Oak Ridge Jordan Mason, Gallatin Jacob Murphree, Dickson County

CLASS 6A BACK Cole Copeland, Bradley Central Dylan Hopkins, Maryville JaCoby Stevens, Oakland Kylan Watkins, Whitehaven

DII-A BACK Calvin Austin III, Harding Academy Eric Gray, Lausanne Chase Hayden, St. George’s Elijah Howard, Webb School of Knoxville

DII-AA BACK Ben Brooks, Pope John Paul II Ty Chandler, MBA Jeremiah Oatsvall, Brentwood Academy Robert Riddle, McCallie

KICKER OF THE YEAR Joe Doyle, Farragut Jake McClure, East Hamilton Jacob Smith, Siegel Adam Williams, Wilson Central