MPD Welcomes Nine New Officers


The Murfreesboro Police Department’s newest officers graduated Sept. 27 from the Tennessee Law Enforcement Training Academy (TLETA) in Nashville. The officers, who were part of Class 1869, spent 12-weeks studying and training at the Basic Police School.

The new officers are: (alphabetical order)

Officer Wesley Cantrell
Officer Brianna Dunn
Officer Ryan Ellis
Officer Johnathan Gomez
Officer Brenden Myers
Officer Dustin Nicholson
Officer Thaddeus Reyes
Officer Brittany Rush
Officer Anthony Wiggins

MPD Officer Dustin Nicholson received the Outstanding Officer Award, which was presented by Tennessee Sheriff’s Association president John Fuson.

“We are proud of the graduates and their accomplishments and we look forward to them completing the current training cycle and joining other officers serving our community,” said Murfreesboro Police Chief Michael Bowen.

Bowen presented the Tennessee Association of Chiefs of Police Casey-Fowler-Williamson Leadership Award to Clarksville Police Officer Isabella Hofinga.

The Murfreesboro officers will undergo additional weeks of in-house training, including partnering with a Field Training Officer (FTO) before patrolling the streets solo.