Are Fireworks Allowed in Your City?


Here’s a look at the fireworks laws in your community.


In the city limits of Murfreesboro, it is only permissible to use fireworks on the following times:

July 3: 10:00am – 11:00pm
July 4: 10:00am – 11:00pm
July 5: 10:00am – 11:00pm

Seasonal sales of fireworks are only permitted from June 28-July 5 from State-approved retailers.

Assistant Chief/Fire Marshal Carl Peas would like to remind citizens that it is unlawful for any person to use any item of fireworks on private property without the consent of the property owner. It is also unlawful for any person to use any item of fireworks on public property including public streets, unless it is part of an approved public display.

The City of Murfreesboro prohibits the sell, use, or possession of any mortar firework with a single tube, if that tube has been preloaded with a shell and the tube or shell has a diameter of one and a half inches. Anyone in the city limits is also prohibited from selling, using, or possessing reloadable fireworks and bottle rockets.


If you plan on using fireworks for your celebrations, here are allowed dates and times within the Smyrna City Limits:

July 3: 9:00am – 10:00pm
July 4: 9:00am – 11:00pm
July 5: 9:00am – 10:00pm

Here is the specific fireworks information within the Smyrna Municipal code

La Vergne

The discharge of common fireworks within the corporate limits of the City of La Vergne is restricted to the following dates and times:

June 21 through July 7 9:00am – 10:00pm
July 4th – 9:00am – 1:00am