County Residents Excel at Higher Education


Nearly 430 students at Columbia State Community College were named to the dean’s list for earning academic honors this spring.

“Being named to the dean’s list is a notable achievement,” said Dr. Margaret D. Smith, the executive vice president and provost for academic affairs and student programs and services. “We encourage and promote student success at Columbia State, and these students are a great example of what it means to be successful.”

To qualify for the dean’s list, students must earn 12 or more credit hours for the semester with a GPA of 3.50 or higher.

Abigail Holt of La Vergne (37086)

Alexis Samples of Smyrna (37167)

Benjamin Marriner of Murfreesboro (37128)

Carson Baldree of Smyrna (37167)

Catherine Harris of Rockvale (37153)

Noah Woodard of Smyrna (37167)

Tanner King of Rockvale (37153)

Columbia State is a two-year college, serving a nine-county area in southern Middle Tennessee with locations in Columbia, Franklin, Lawrenceburg, Lewisburg and Clifton. As Tennessee’s first community college, Columbia State is committed to increasing access and enhancing diversity at all five campuses. Columbia State is a member of the Tennessee Board of Regents, one of the largest higher education systems in the nation. For more information, please visit

Tennessee’s Community Colleges is a system of 13 colleges offering a high-quality, affordable, convenient and personal education to prepare students to achieve their educational and career goals in two years or less. We offer associate degree and certificate programs, workforce development programs and transfer pathways to four-year degrees. For more information, please visit us online at

Samford University releases dean’s lists after the close of the fall and spring semesters each academic year. To qualify for the dean’s list, a student must have earned a minimum 3.5 grade point average out of a possible 4.0 while attempting at least 12 credit hours of coursework. Dean’s List is the highest academic recognition given by the school at the end of each semester.

Samantha C. Williams of La Vergne (37086)

Anna M. Higginbotham of Murfreesboro (37129)

Katherine R. White of Murfreesboro (37129)

Katelyn E. Lester of Murfreesboro (37129)

Megan L. Meadow of Murfreesboro (37129)

Kamron R. Buehler of Murfreesboro (37130)

Catherine E. Knox of Murfreesboro (37130)

Shelby Smith of Murfreesboro (37130)

Ellen K. Riggins of Murfreesboro (37130)

Emily C. Willson of Murfreesboro (37130)

Jordan E. Simpson of Murfreesboro (37130)

Erica D. Smith of Murfreesboro (37130)

Brianna G. Haynes of Smyrna (37167)

Jacob Nestle of Murfreesboro, TN, was named to Ashland University’s Dean’s List for the spring 2017 semester.

Nestle is majoring in political science and philosophy.

To be eligible for this honor, a student must be enrolled full time at Ashland University and achieve at least a 3.5 grade point average on a 4.0 scale.