Rutherford County Schools

A third of the Rutherford County’s schools are among the best in the state, according to new designations announced today by the Tennessee Department of Education.

TDOE has named 15 Rutherford County schools to the list of ‘Reward Schools.’

To be designated a reward school, a school must have a high accountability score and be improving in achievement and growth for all students and subgroups.

“We are proud Rutherford County Schools has once again been recognized as being among the best in Tennessee and that so many of our schools have earned this impressive and notable recognition,” Director of Schools Bill Spurlock said.  “Everyone who contributes to the success of these schools should be commended for their efforts. It takes all parties working together, including administrators, teachers, students and our parents.”

The 15 Rutherford County reward schools are: 

  • Barfield Elementary School
  • Blackman Elementary School
  • Blackman Middle School
  • Brown’s Chapel Elementary School
  • Cedar Grove Elementary School
  • Central Magnet School
  • Eagleville School
  • John Colemon Elementary School
  • Lascassas Elementary School
  • McFadden School of Excellence
  • Rockvale Middle School
  • Smyrna Elementary School
  • Stewarts Creek Elementary School
  • Stewarts Creek Middle School
  • Thurman Francis Arts Academy

The schools earned the designation based on results from last school year’s TNReady assessments. Rutherford County Schools will use those results as one measurement tool to help provide additional academic support and opportunities for students at all schools.